CAN MEN AND WOMEN REALLY BE “JUST FRIENDS” WITH THEIR EX?

There are so many people out there claiming that they are “JUST FRIENDS” with their ex. I should know I’m one of them. Me and my ex had an off and on relationship for over 5 years. I know that sounds crazy, but it is the truth. When we are on good terms; I enjoy the conversations that we have (no matter how short it may be). Well we were very serious about our relationship, so much so that we were talking about marriage. If we could work through our differences that is. We had a hit a nasty bump in the road; due to my insecurities. I thought that it would be like the last time we broke up, but no it wasn’t. This cross road is truly testing our faith in God.

He told me that he think we should be just friends because “I’m not independent”, and because he wanted to get his self right spiritually, emotionally, and physically. I agreed with him about the whole thing, but he said something to me that I found to be a “double standard”. He said to “We are just friends but we’re not allowed to be friends with anyone else of the opposite sex”. I thought it was crazy and it made me question whether or not if men and women can really be just friends with their ex. I believe in keeping my options open, so I kept communicating with my old friends, up until he told me that I had to choose; stop talking to my old friends, or losing all lines of communication between me and him.Since I never met my other friends in person before, I chose him.

Now, I sometimes wonder if I made the right choice. The reason why I question my own choice is because I tend to be lonely and bored. Everybody that I know have a family of their own, so they can’t keep me company all the time. Its not like I’m cheating on him; because we don’t go together. So tell me world, do you think men and women can be “JUST FRIENDS” with their ex?  

3 thoughts on “CAN MEN AND WOMEN REALLY BE “JUST FRIENDS” WITH THEIR EX?”

Leave a Reply

